Don’s Curation Station (Vol. 3)

Ten songs for the weekend.

Still working on the title.

It’s Friday, and that means it’s time for ten new songs to get you through the weekend. Let’s get into it!

GLOWED UP (feat. Anderson .Paak) // KAYTRANADA 

Remember how I feel about Anderson .Paak features? Hint: NUT.

99.9% is a fantastic album that I hasn’t gotten the attention it deserves. Spoiler: prime Snooze Button candidate. Also, how fucking nice is the switch up halfway through this song?

By Any Means // Schoolboy Q

I told you I wasn’t done with Blank Face, and this song could easily have been five other ones. Honorable mentions: “Know Ya Wrong”, “Dope Dealer”, “Tookie Knows II.”

22 (OVER S∞∞N) [Bob Moose Extended Cab Version] // Bon Iver

There’s no denying that Justin Vernon is a weird dude, and I don’t know what the hell is going on with the track listing for this album. That being said, it doesn’t make this song any less fantastic. Super stoked for more Bon Iver in my life. And remember kids, it’s pronounced Bon I-ver with a hard “I”, don’t let music snobs tell you any different.

Silhouette // Goldroom

I’d like to send a special shoutout to avid Washed reader Kyle Brindlinger (@kbhowareya on Twitter) for recommending this song to me. This one’s for you, Lyle. By the way, still the same vibe as “Lying to You.” Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Freeway // Kurt Vile

I re-discovered this song after putting my entire saved Spotify library on shuffle. Road trip music for sure.

Modest Life // RÜFÜS DU SOL

Bubbly synths. Catchy chorus. RÜFÜS DU SOL reminds me a lot of a more groovy Odesza. Some other great songs of theirs to check out: “You Were Right”, “Sundream”.

Stay // Chet Porter

Foreign Family Collective is Odesza’s music curation imprint (if that’s a thing). Whatever it is, Foreign Family has turned me onto some great artists, including Jai Wolf and Louis Futon. Chet Porter steps in as the next on the list. Great song to put on and reminisce on a hell of a summer.

We (feat. CeeLo Green) // Mac Miller

Another fantastic single from Mac Miller. I’m super down for the sonic direction he is taking his production selection.

Drug Dealers Anonymous (feat. JAY Z) // Pusha T

This song came out awhile ago, and because it was a TIDAL exclusive, I totally forgot about it until this week. It’s a very sick song, however. Love the beat.

A.M. AM // Damien Jurado

Our very own Jake Ramirez introduced me to this album from his debut Snooze Button feature! That is exactly what it’s for, folks. This stands out as my favorite track on Visions. Thank you, Willy.

You can also find the entire selection from the POTW series here:

By Deege Sutton

Leave a Reply

